Skip Search
Rothberg International School The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Skip Main bar
Main bar

Thanks to Scandinavia Fellowship

in memory of Frances and Benjamin Sperling

The Thanks To Scandinavia Fund from the Benjamin Sperling Bequest to the Hebrew University has endowed scholarships of US $12,000 each in memory of Frances and Benjamin Sperling, for students from Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden who wish to pursue graduate studies at the Rothberg International School, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Founded by Danish entertainer Victor Borge and New York attorney Richard Netter in 1963, Thanks To Scandinavia provides dozens of scholarships for students from Scandinavia and Bulgaria each year in gratitude for the heroic rescue and protection of Jews in Europe during the Second World War. Recipients are not eligible for any additional Israel-based financial aid. The scholarship is for a single year and is not renewable. A non-refundable application fee of US $80 must be paid to the Rothberg International School by the candidate upon submission of the application form.


The RIS Division of Graduate Studies, established in 1993, functions under the auspices of the Faculty of Humanities, the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Paul Baerwald School of Social Work and Social Welfare, and the Rothberg International School. The Division offers degree and non-degree options, with seminars and tutorials in Jewish Studies, Jewish Education, Politics and Society of Israel, Islam and the Middle East, Biblical Studies, Comparative Religion, and Community Leadership and Philanthropy Studies. Modern Hebrew language instruction is available at all levels, as are language courses in Biblical Hebrew, Arabic, Yiddish, Greek, Akkadian and German. Courses and tutorials in the Division are taught in English by members of the Hebrew University faculty and distinguished visitors. These courses are recognized by the Hebrew University as equivalent to courses offered in its departmental degree programs. In addition, students with a sufficient command of Hebrew are encouraged to take graduate courses taught in Hebrew in all the faculties and schools of the Hebrew University, including Science, Medicine and Pharmacy.  


The Graduate Year Program is designed to meet the special needs of qualified graduate students from abroad who wish to spend a year at the Hebrew University, whether they are M.A. or Ph.D. candidates or recent college graduates who have not yet commenced a program of gradu­ate study. While this is not a degree program, a full transcript is provided in order to facilitate the transfer of credit. 


Admission Requirements and Application 


Application deadline: April 1


Candidates must apply for a graduate program (degree or non-degree) as well as for the Fellowship. 


Admission to the Division of Graduate Studies is based on transcripts, letters of recommenda­tion and a statement of purpose. Applicants must have the equivalent of a "B" (3.2) grade average.  


Candidates for the Fellowship should have a B.A. degree or equivalent and wish to spend a year of study within the framework of the Division of Graduate Studies at the Hebrew University’s Rothberg International School (RIS). In addition, candidates must provide proof of citizenship in one of the Scandinavian countries. Students from Scandinavia who have been living in Israel for no more than one calendar year at the time of application may also submit their applications to the Rothberg International School and to the appropriate Scandinavian organization for screening.


Candidates must pursue a full course load of studies.



for graduate programs





For further information, contact the appropriate person listed below. These people will also make the initial screening. Their recommendations will be forwarded to the RIS Division of Graduate Studies. The final decision will be made in Jerusalem by the Selection Committee, chaired by the Provost of the RIS.



Mr. Otto Rühl, Lecturer, MA 

Sprydet 81 

Dk 30-70 Snekkersten 

Tel: +45 49 25 3900 

Fax: +45 49 22 4204 


Prof. Jacques Blum 

Kronprinsensgade 14, 5 

1114 Copenhagen K. 

Tel.: +45 33 11 3008 

Fax: +45 33 11 3008  


Daniel Robert Krygier
Cultural Officer

Embassy of Israel
DK-2900 Hellerup

Tel: +45 88 18 55 24
Fax: +45 88 18 55 55


Hugo Lagercrantz MD PhD Drhc

Senior Professor of Pediatrics

Acta Paediatrica 

Karolinska University Hospital  X5:01 

17176 Stockholm, Sweden 

Phone: +46 8 5177/4700  or/2487 


Ms. Evelyn Gottlieb 

Public Relations 

Embassy of Israel 

Box 14006 

104 40 Stockholm 

Tel: +46-8-528 06 524 

Fax: +46-8-662 53 01 




Mr. Aviad Ivri


Embassy of Israel 

POB 534 Skøyen 

0214 Oslo 

Tel: + 47 21 01 9524 

Fax: + 47 21 01 9530 


Karin H. Mandeville

Cultural Officer 

Embassy of Israel 

P.O. Box 534 Skøyen 

N-0214 Oslo 

Tel.: +47 21 01 95 00 

Fax: +47 21 01 95 30 

Mob.: +47 93 20 73 99 






Ms. Elina Mielityinen

Information Officer 

Embassy of Israel 
Yrjönkatu 36 A 6
00100 Helsinki 

Tel: +358 9 681 20 225 

Fax: +358 9 1356 959 






Division of Gradaute Studies

Rothberg International School 

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem 

Boyar Building, Mount Scopus Jerusalem 91905 

Tel: 972 25 88 3184 

Fax: 972 25 82 2363 




Copies of the recommendations for the Scandinavian applicants and all relevant correspondence, as well as the protocol of the Committee's decision on the awards, will be sent to the Executive Director of the Thanks To Scandinavia Fund in New York. 


© All rights reserved to The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Jump to page content